School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences About us Contact staff

SFOS Committees

SFOS Advisory Council


The Advisory Council, appointed by the UAF Chancellor, was organized to assist the University of Alaska Fairbanks in developing program direction and priorities for SFOS. The council also facilitates public understanding of SFOS goals and accomplishments, and provides guidance in evaluating opportunities and priorities for program development. The group, whose participants come from a broad range of scientific, academic, industrial, and citizen backgrounds, serves as a link between the various constituencies and the School.

2011 SFOS Advisory Council members (left to right): Chris Oliver (for Eric Olson), Jim Balsiger, Margaret Williams, Jim McCarthy, Mike Castellini, Jeff Stephan, Arliss Sturgulewski, Charles Swanton, Heather McCarty, Ian Dutton, David Policansky.


Vice Chair:

Dr. David Policansky
Board on Environmental Studies & Toxicology
National Research Council, Rm. NA 229
500 5th Street NW
Washington, D.C. 20001
(202) 334-2234
Term: January 1991 – June 2013

Ms. Heather D. McCarty
McCarty and Associates
1537 Pine St.
Juneau, AK 99801
(907) 351-6794 (cell)
Term: July 1998 – June 2013


Dr. James Balsiger
Alaska Region National Marine Fisheries Service
P.O. Box 21668
Juneau, AK 99802-1668
(907) 586-7221
Term: Ex-Officio

Mr. Bruce Bustamante
Vice President, Community and Public Affairs
Princess Tours
601 West 5th Avenue, Suite 501
Anchorage, AK 99501
(907) 550-7774
Term: March 2008 – February 2011

Dr. Douglas DeMaster
Director, Alaska Fisheries Science Center
Auke Bay Laboratories
Ted Stevens Marine Research Inst.
17109 Pt. Lena Loop Rd.
Juneau, AK  99801
(907) 789-6017
Term: August 2002 – June 2013

Dr. Tara Riemer Jones
President and CEO
Alaska SeaLife Center
P.O. Box 1329
Seward, AK 99664
(907) 224-6349
Term: January 2012 –December 2015

Dr. Cynthia M. Jones
Professor and Director
Dept. of Ocean, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
Center for Quantitative Fisheries Ecology
Old Dominion University
800 West 46th Street
Norfolk, VA 23508
(757) 683-4497
Term: July 2004 – June 2013

Dr. James J. McCarthy
Museum of Comparative Zoology
Harvard University
26 Oxford Street
Cambridge, MA 02138
(617) 495-2330
Term: May ’90 – June 2013

Mr. Eric Olson
Chair, North Pacific Fisheries Management Council
Kwikpak Fisheries
1016 West 6th Avenue, Suite 301
Anchorage, AK 99501
(907) 644-0326
Term: Ex-Officio

Mr. Jay E. Stinson
Chair, FITC Advisory Board
Pelagic Resources, Inc.
P.O. Box 3845
Kodiak, AK 99615
(907) 486-6933
Term: Ex-Officio

Ms. Arliss Sturgulewski
3201 C Street, Suite 405
Anchorage, AK 99503
(907) 561-5286
Term: May ’92 – June 2013

Mr. Charles Swanton
Director of Sport Fishing
Alaska Department of Fish & Game
P.O. Box 15526
Juneau, AK 99811-5526
(907) 465-6148
Term: Ex-Officio

Ms. Margaret Williams
Director Bering Sea Field Office
World Wilflife Fund, Bering Sea Field Office
406 G Street, Suite 303
Anchorage, AK 99501
(907) 279-5504
Term: March 2009 – February 2012

<< Back to Committees List